5 Things that I can’t live without as an MS Patient

As an MS patient, there are certain things that are essential to live a happy and healthy life free of common MS symptoms. Here’s a list of some the things that I need to be sure my MS is under control:

1. Treatment: It is important for all MS patients to seek appropriate treatment in order to prevent relapses. I am currently on Rebif 44, and it is working fabulously. Everyone reacts differently to medication, so what works for me may not have the same effect on someone else. What medication works for you?

2. Blood-work: Considering that the current MS treatments cause a lot of issues, it is crucial for patients to get blood-work done every four to six months, depending on your doctor. For example, Rebif can cause liver injuries so it is important to get blood-work done to ensure that your liver is working properly if you are taking Rebif. My doctor advises me to get blood-work done every six months if things are in order in the lab results. If, for example, my B12 level is low I begin taking the proper treatment to increase it, and my blood is tested again four months later. How often do you get blood-work?

3. MRIs: Due to that fact that MS causes lesions on the brain, MS patients are suggested to get MRIs once a year, unless there is an issue prior, to make sure no new lesions have formed, and the old lesions have either decreased or remained the same.

4. Exercise: It is important for all individuals to maintain a healthy lifestyle, but it is crucial for MS patients. I like to work-out three to four times a week, usually participating in an aerobic class or doing cardio on a machine at the gym. What’s your favorite physical activity that keeps you healthy?

5. Chocolate: Sometimes, a girl has to indulge herself, and my number one weakness is chocolate. If I’m just having “one of those days,” as MS patients often do, I like to relax and treat myself to a little chocolate. I do not discriminate; I love all kinds. What’s your weakness?

 

Feel free to share with me the five things you can’t live without as an MS patient.

🙂

Be Well,

Brooke

About writtenbybrooke

Hi, all! My name is Brooke, and I am currently a journalism student at the University of Florida. As a 22-year-old individual living with Multiple Sclerosis, I have learned that life experience comes from taking the most challenging obstacles in our lives and turning them into lessons. The purpose of this blog is to not only share my story with you, but to learn yours as well,whether you have MS, or know someone close to you with the illness. I also want to make this blog an oasis of hope for everyone who views it by posting life-changing quotes, inspiring research, interviews from MS survivors, and overall good news for everyone. So I hope you enjoy, and always be well. -Brooke
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment